Become Part Of IABL Worldwide – No Thanks

I received another great scam email this afternoon. This time, the International Association of Business Leaders has added me to their distinguished list. This one doesn’t seem to have been picked up on as much as the Executive Who’s Who and Princeton Premier:

Dear Maxwell,

You were recently chosen to represent your profession in the 2010 Hardcover Edition of International Association of Business Leaders.

We are please to inform you that your candidacy was formally approved March 8th, 2010.

The IABL Worldwide Publishing Committee selected you as a potential candidate based not only upon your current employment, but focusing as well on criteria from executive and professional directories, associations, and trade journals. Given your professional background, the Editorial Department believes your profile makes a fitting addition to our publication.

There is no fee nor obligation to be listed. As we are working off of secondary sources, we must receive verification from you that your profile is accurate. After receiving verification, we will validate your registry listing within 7 business days.

Once finalized, your listing will share prominent registry space with thousands of fellow accomplished individuals across the globe, each representing accomplishment within their own geographical area.

To verify your profile and accept the candidacy, please visit here <removed>. Our registration deadline for this year’s candidates is April 30th, 2010. To ensure you are included, we must receive your verification on or before this date. On behalf of our Committee, I salute your achievement and welcome you to our association.

J. Douglas Thompson
Director, Editorial Committee

IABL Worldwide
176-25 Union Turnpike Suite 183
Fresh Meadows, NY 11365, USA

Confidentiality Notice: This e-mail communication and any attachments may contain confidential and privileged information for the use of the designated recipients named above. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that you have received this communication in error and that any review, disclosure, dissemination, distribution or copying of it or its contents is prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please delete the communication and unsubscribe from the mailing using the options available in this email.

To remove yourself from future mailings, please visit here <removed> to use our automated removal system. You will be removed from our mailing database within seven (7) days.


You can see the very similar language to the other scam emails.This times the “unsubscribe” links go to “” – a whois search shows that the domain was created on 7 Jan 2010, a clear scam indicator. After all, wouldn’t one expect a reputable business registry to have been around a tad longer than 3 months?

Another email to avoid like the proverbial. Thank you indeed, Mr Thompson (actually I prefer the Spanish version).


14 responses to “Become Part Of IABL Worldwide – No Thanks”

  1. Anne Schaeffer Avatar
    Anne Schaeffer

    i rec’d the same come on today, but they managed to not figure out how to merge my name into the saluation field. So, i rec’d an invite to


    very personal, no?

  2. Gosh, I guess I’m not the big shot they would like me to believe I am.

  3. i may have received an e-mail but my spam filter caught it and my security feature wouldn’t let me get to their website to visit and complete more details; they must have found me somehow as i got a call from them IABL 954-765-6312

    when i said that i was not interested and that i don’t remember signing up they were nice about it and let me be…for now BUT i’ve been getting a lot of spam come through my filter since…hmm

  4. Dig in a little further and you will find that the site linky goes to domain was dead on April 10 and suddenly came alive on May 06.

    Registrar: NAME.COM LLC
    Whois Server:
    Referral URL:
    Status: clientTransferProhibited
    Updated Date: 13-may-2010
    Creation Date: 06-may-2010
    Expiration Date: 06-may-2011

    Distiguished? Nope. Just another snake oil company.

  5. Looking at the header this came through the following host email set-up

  6. Sabeeta Avatar

    They actually got me tricked into believing it was the real deal………. I guess I am not as important as I thought…lol..

  7. someone Avatar

    when i said that i was not interested and that i don’t remember signing up they were nice about it and let me be…for now BUT i’ve been getting a lot of spam come through my filter since…hmm

  8. salad ninja Avatar
    salad ninja

    i got a call from a “robert wilkins” telling me that i was fortunate enough to be accepted in IABL. After speaking to Robert, i decided to dumb myself down to see if they were going to still accept me…and they did. they offered me ad space that robert would not accept “not interested” to, at that point i hung up on him.

  9. mgfint Avatar

    I got one of those things, too. One clear indicator of how serious they are is that on their registration form (already on a different domain than their main website) no link goes to the main site and absolutely no additional information can be found. Would a serious company, that takes pride out of their offerings, ever hide their own website in their mailings? No, on the opposite.

    So once again a scam; my guess it’s about harvesting names, emails and addresses. This will then be sold as “fresh opt-in records”.

    The internet is so polluted with those parasites. It’s sad.

  10. A few years ago I started giving salespeople my dogs name to call back and ask for. Today.. I’m proud to say, my dog has been chosen by IABL to represent his profession. I’m quite proud of him now…. he’s had a ruff time in business.

  11. If you want a real laugh, search their address on Google maps and use the “street view” feature: The address is a UPS post box in a very run down looking area…and ironically it’s next a restaurant called “Fame” – no kidding!

  12. Girllight Avatar

    I suspected that this may be mal-intended and unsubcribed. What are the consequences of following that link? I was more afraid of a virus than not living up to their potential!

    1. If anything you have confirmed your email address to them, so I suspect you will receive more spam than less from now on.

      The best thing to do when receiving these sorts of unsolicited emails is to ignore and delete them. You should only unsubscribe from newsletters that you know come from legitimate sources.

  13. Spam filter caught it. Reported it to [email protected]. The link was the great tip off.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *